Week 4: Change in Project

Hi everyone. This week i am going to talk about the change in my project. I was able to get a workplacement for my project paper which is why I decided to drop the Ignite project and start the new one.

For the workplacement my role is going to be a junior IT analyst providing support to the users working across multiple countries and I will be communicating with the IT Architect (my supervisor) and the IT team for the purpose of this paper. Besides the service desk day-to-day activities, I will also be doing a research project which is related to replacing the current service desk software with a new one.

I am looking forward to the workplacement and excited to see what new challenges I will be trying to overcome.

Reflection on Weave Ignite Project

During this project, I had learned alot about docker, Kubernetes, how Ignite functions by allowing the user to run a virtual machine thats easy to set up and fast with a container UX. Unlike gVisor which doesn’t let user run a VM and only wraps a container in a VM, Ignite allows the user to interact with these VMs, choose virtual machines to be packaged like a container which makes them portable now, etc.

Comparing it to standard virtual machines, dockers and containers, Weave Ignite is better than all off them in terms of simplicity, security, utilization, flexibility and performance. Thats why I strongly recommend developer to give this product a try instead of containers.

Some of the use cases include managing/launching stacks in git which includes stacks that are app ready, running multiple VMs with different ISO image and having a secure network for each VMs unlike containers which is really useful for testings products. Besides those things, we can also run legacy apps in one of this light-weight VMs.

The only issue that I couldn’t solve was to figure out what was causing the VMs to not run after running the command to stop them. In case if we are going to use the VMs more often, then we can simply logout from the VMs which will let them to continue running in the background.

Í am glad that I looked into this product and got better understanding of VMs and Containers. I will be looking into this project in the future when the opportunity occurs and investigate further into it and also figure out the solution for the above problem. This is an ideal product for organizations that prefers high level of security from products that the users will use and meets the business needs.

Thats all for this week’s blog. Thank you.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started