LAB 7: Using Standard Switches

Task 1: View the Standard Switch Configuration

To complete the first task, I went to the Configure section, in the ESXi host to view the Standard Switch Configuration and then I had to answer few questions from the lab manual and I have mentioned the questions and answers below:

1. What is the name of the default standard switch?

Ans:- The name of the standard switch is vSwitch0

2. Which physical adapter is the default standard switch connected to?

Ans:- It is connected to vmnic0

3. Which network is your virtual machine connected to?

Ans:- To the VM Network

4. Which networks are connected to the default standard switch?

Ans:- Both VM Network and Management Network

Task 2: Create a Standard Switch with a Virtual Machine Port Group

So in this section, I went to the ESXi host and went to the Configure section where I selected “Add Networking”. From there the “Add Networking” wizard opened up. For Connection type I selected the “Virtual Machine Port Group for Standard Switch”. In the second section “Select target device”, I selected the “New standard switch” after which I added a network adaptor in the thirsd section “Create a Standard Switch”.

Then I followed the wizard and completed creating a new switch “vSwitch1”.

I have repeated the same steps in mentioned above in the second ESXi host machine.

Task 3: Attach Your Virtual Machines to the New Virtual Machine Port Group

Up until now, the virtual machines where not able to communicate with each other directly because there was no vSwitch for the purpose of connection. After completing Task 2, we can now connect 2 virtual machine today through the vSwitch.

To do that, I navigated the VM and Templates folder which is “General Templates” created in the previous lab. From there I went to Virtual Machine under the folder and clicked on Edit settings. After that “Select Network Adaptor” was selected and I looked for the port group created in the above task. .

This task was so close to be completed, but I was unable to finish it because the DHCP IP protocol is no longer supported and the reason is because it is no longer supported in the current environment.

Feel free to comment if there is a way to solve the DHCP problem other than the way method in the manual. Thank you.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started